CBSE awards 50 teachers from across the country, 10 from NCR on Teachers' Day

September 5, 2013, 12:24 pm

Fifty teachers from across the country, including 10 from NCR, were awarded for their innovation in classroom teaching by the CBSE on the eve of Teachers’ Day.

The principal mentors are being awarded for their efforts to promote the Continuous Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE). This is the second batch of mentors to receive this newly constituted award.

"Children are now much smarter and are more influenced by technology and consumerism. Therefore it’s a challenge for the teachers to mould them and teachers now days have to go much beyond books to help them imbibe values and traditions," said Union HRD minister M M Pallam Raju who gave away the awards on Wednesday.

The awardees from NCR includes Abha Sahgal, principal of Sanskriti School, Chanakyapuri; Anita Malhotra, principal, Lotus Valley International School, Ghaziabad; Archna Koul, principal, DAV Centenary Public School, Ghaziabad; Chitra Bakthavathsalu, history teacher of

K R Mangalam World School, Delhi; Jyoti Arora, principal, Mount Abu Public School, Rohini; Kalpana Maheswari, principal, Maharaja Agrasain Public School, Ghaziabad; Mani Shankra, head of history of Air Force Bal Bharti, Lodi Road; Neeta Jethy, principal, Mother Teresa Public School, Preet Vihar; S Nandi, physical education teacher of Dayawati Modi Public School, Ghaziabad and Suchi Bajaj, coordinator, Springdales, Pusa Road.