CBSE gives 3 More new Centres for JEE Main

November 29, 2013, 12:25 pm

CBSE approves for 3 more new centres - Bhawanipatna, Angul and Jeypore - for JEE(Main) in Odisha. This was informed by the Technical Education And Training Minister Pratap Keshari Deb.

The centres were approved following the request of the State Government. The engineering aspirants of the State will appear for JEE Main instead of the Odisha JEE from 2014. The nine centres will be located in Berhampur, Balasore, Sambalpur, Rourkela, Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Angul, Bhawanipatna and Jeypore.

Earlier the state Government writes to CBSE seeking 12 exam centres across State for conduct of JEE Main exam on April 6, 2014 for engineering admission Earlier the state government of Odisha has decided replace the Odisha Joint Entrance Exam (OJEE) with the all-India Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) Main for the 2014 - 2015 academic session.

The JEE-Main, conducted by Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE), is a selection test for the National Institutes of Technology (NIT) and the Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIIT). It is also the first filter for the Indian Institutes of Technology — the top 1.5 lakh students are allowed to take the JEE-Advanced test for admission into the IITs.

The selection of students for admission to engineering courses in the institutes in Odisha will be done through JEE (Mains) 2014 only.

Gujarat, Maharashtra and Odisha have joined the Joint Entrance Examination (Main) system that was introduced from this year for admission to premier technical institutes in the country.